Board of Directors

CRERES is led by a governing Board of Directors. They provide policy direction, establish a strategic research agenda and operating policies, and provide financial oversight for CRERES. The board consists of thirteen members.

The Department for Energy Development and Independence (DEDI) provides consultation, coordination services, technical assistance, and staff support to the Board of Directors of CRERES on an as-needed basis and as Department resources permit. The Secretary of the Cabinet or his designee works with the governing board to coordinate the development of CRERES and act as the chair of the Board of Directors until the Board is established and is operational.

Each Board member appointed by the Governor shall serve a two-year term and may be reappointed. The members representing specific agencies serve for as long as the respective agencies determine appropriate. All directors serve without compensation. All Board meetings are conducted in compliance with the requirements of the Kentucky Open Meetings Act, KRS 61.800 - 850. Quarterly board meetings are open public meetings and allow for effective public observation.

Center for Renewable Energy Research and Environmental Stewardship Board of Directors

  • Mr. Charles Snavely is the Secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet. Mr. Snavely is a graduate of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University with a B.S. in Mining Engineering and has recently completed the Executive MBA Program through a joint program of the University of Kentucky and the University of Louisville. Mr. Snavely retired from the mining industry after more than 35 years, having served as a mine engineer and later president of several large coal companies in southeast Kentucky.
  • Dr. Charlie Collins is the Principal Investigator for the Kentucky State University College of Agriculture, Food Science, and Sustainable Systems. He represents post-secondary education interests.
  • Donald G. Colliver is an engineering professor at the University of Kentucky. He represents postsecondary education interests.
  • Dr. Mark McGinley is the Endowed Chair in Infrastructure Research, Civil & Environmental Engineering at the University of Louisville. He represents postsecondary education interests.
  • Kris Kimel is the President of the Kentucky Science and Technology Corporation.
  • Kenneth Seibert is President of CMTA engineers. He represents an energy conservation organization.
  • pending A designee of the Secretary for the Cabinet for Economic Development
  • Arthur Williams is the former Executive Director of the Kentucky Conservation Committee. He represents consumer advocates.
  • Cliff Ashburner is an attorney for Dinsmore & Shohl, LLP. He represents companies focused on renewable energy.
  • Kelley Kline focuses on regulatory and government relations for GE Appliances & Lighting. She represents companies that focused on renewable energy.
  • John M. Wright is the Vice President of Strategic Planning and Development at Owensboro Grain Company. He represents companies focused on renewable energy.
  • Cam Metcalf, retired, is the former Executive Director for the Kentucky Pollution Prevention Center. He represents environmental interests.
  • Rhonda Trautman is the former Mayor for the City of Glasgow. She represents local government interests.
HomeNewsSite Map